B is for Birthday Bulletin Board

Mini-party hats. One for each child.

Mini-party hats. One for each child.

This afternoon I started working on our new birthday bulletin board. A lot of classrooms at the center have premade birthday signs. But, I think those looks big and tacky. I wanted to make something special for each child.  

This is what I ended up with:  mini-party hats. They’re easy to make, not overly distracting or gaudy, and most importantly, can be custom-made for each kid.

 

 

Materials needed:

  • Scrapbook paper/construction paper
  • Bows (I got a pack of eight for only $1)
  • Party hat template (optional)
  • Glitter (optional)

Directions:

  1. Draw outline on paper. You can use a template if you want, but I just drew mine. Start with triangle, but with the
    This is the pattern I drew.

    This is the pattern I drew.

    bottom edge rounded. At the top you need to leave space to attach the bow. My design has a circle on top. 

  2. Cut out the shapes (obvious, I know).
  3. Attach bows. I like the solid colors, but depending on the design of your paper, multicolored ribbons might look good too.
  4. Write each child’s name and birthday on the hats.
  5. Embellish with glitter or ribbon if desired.

The finished results! These will look great hanging on the wall, much better than some big sign. Also, when the kids move up to the next room, they can take their birthday hat with them.

Just make sure you cut out the paper right-side up, unlike me.

Just make sure you cut out the paper right-side up, unlike me.

Leave a comment